top of page

Tue, Feb 28

|

Edwards

February Read with Pride Book Club

Join us for a discussion of Pet by Akwaeke Emezi

Registration is closed
See other events
February Read with Pride Book Club
February Read with Pride Book Club

Time & Location

Feb 28, 6:00 PM

Edwards, 295 Main St, Edwards, CO 81632, USA

Guests

About the event

New in 2023 and in partnership with the amazing team at The Bookworm, Mountain Pride is excited to be launching a Queer (& Allies) Book Club!

The Read with Pride Book Club will gather once a month to share and explore our experiences with a selected book.

The Bookworm is offering discounted copies of each month's books but we do not want cost to be a barrier so please message us if you need support in purchasing the selected book. Please reach out if you need support purchasing. Even if you haven't finished the book by the meeting date, there will be plenty to discuss, and plenty of snacks!

Book of the Month: 

Pet By Akwaeke Emezi

A thought-provoking and haunting novel about a creature that escapes from an artist's canvas, whose talent is sniffing out monsters in a world that claims they don't exist anymore. Perfect for fans of Akata Witch and Shadowshaper .

There are no monsters anymore, or so the children in the city of Lucille are taught. Jam and her best friend, Redemption, have grown up with this lesson all their life. But when Jam meets Pet, a creature made of horns and colors and claws, who emerges from one of her mother's paintings and a drop of Jam's blood, she must reconsider what she's been told. Pet has come to hunt a monster--and the shadow of something grim lurks in Redemption's house. Jam must fight not only to protect her best friend, but also uncover the truth, and the answer to the question How do you save the world from monsters if no one will admit they exist?

In their riveting and timely young adult debut, acclaimed novelist Akwaeke Emezi asks difficult questions about what choices you can make when the society around you is in denial.

When: Tuesday, Feb. 28, 6 p.m. Where: The Bookworm of Edwards, 295 Main St., unit C101 Edwards, CO 81632 Cost: Free, RSVP requested

Share this event

bottom of page